• Bendigo Orienteers would like to acknowledge and pay respects to the traditional owners, the Dja Dja Wurrung people, whose country we are on and extend our respect to their Elders, both past and present.

2022 Awards

Dear members,
We had just over 20 people attended the club break-up held at The National Hotel on Thursday evening, November 17. It was good to all be in one place for a social gathering.
Aside from a good meal and conversation, a number of awards were announced. Trophies will be engraved and formally presented at the Fowl & Fizz event (further info below).

Vera Shelton Award

Vera Shelton was a club stalwart who died on One Tree Hill whilst orienteering in 1994.

This is a perpetual award determined by the club president acknowledging a club member who has gone “above and beyond” in helping the functioning of the club during the year.

This year, as orienteering in Bendigo returned to running a full program of events, many people have stepped up to get everything back and running smoothly. Of course this award could be presented to so many within the club.

There has been one notable person who, despite on-going injury, has been at most events assisting set-up, pack-up, bring in a few controls and lend friendly assistance to the increasing number of newcomers we’ve attracted through Facebook. This person has also been an integral member of the committee, offering considered opinions in the best interests of the club.

The Vera Shelton trophy was awarded to John Wilkinson.

Club Champions

Open Mens: Ben Goonan

Open Womens: Nil

Mens B: Neil Barr

Womens B: Julie Flynn

Junior Men: Charlie Wilkin

Junior Women: Lana Telford

Sub-junior boys: Leon Slater

Sub-junior girls: Bridget Slater


Noodle Award
This is presented to the club member who made the biggest mess navigating a leg during the year. This year the award was presented to Wendy Taverna (who was announced as an honorary club member) for her effort on the new Mt Egbert map from Neil Barr. It was truly a world class example of close but not close enough.
Best leg award
This is presented to the course setter who created the best course leg. Typically this is judged by the variations of routes taken by competitors. This was a close battle and awarded to Lorraine Leversha and Nola Juniper for their course at Kalimna Park.
Thank you
The Bendigo Orienteers committee want to thank you for being a member of the club in 2022 and participating in events. A special thank you to all those people who assisted event organisers pack up after events – it’s one small task which is truly appreciated by the organiser who has probably been out all morning setting everything up so participants can enjoy themselves.
Fowl & Fizz event & AGM
A quick heads-up that the first club event of 2023 will be the Peter Creely memorial Fowl & Fizz on Sunday 5 February. This is a free score event with a chicken and champagne breakfast to follow. The club AGM will also take place. We will circulate more information in the new year, but get it in your calendars now!
The AGM is always an important meeting but next year will see plenty of change in the committee. After 3 years as President Craig Feuerherdt is stepping down. The position of Treasurer is also vacant. The committee roles aren’t arduous but it is essential they are filled. If you are considering putting up your hand, take a look at the Club Responsibilities document and have a chat with an existing committee member.
Enjoy a few months off before we start all over again in February 2023!


Craig Feuerherdt
President, Bendigo Orienteers
Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.